Audio Uploading with audioBoom

audioBoom is one of many audio sharing sites on the web.  I’ve only used SoundCloud to upload audio files, though I’m certain that I might have used another app in college (does anyone remember Winamp??).  Comparing these sites is hard, because they have different features.  There are many audio sharing sites that have a free version that allow for an hour of free content with shareable links.  audioBoom connects to Facebook and Twitter and provides an embeddedable widget to share a podcast or similar audio content on websites and blogs.  The free account allow for unlimited uploads of up to 10 minutes.  In fact, audioboom has an educators’ account so that students and teachers can create and share their own audio content.  When digging around the Educator’s page on audioBoom’s site, I found that they have hours of recorded content for teachers, lesson plans, and content to support flipped learning and Common Core learning objectives.  If I were a K-12 teacher, I would definitely use this site and share it with my fellow educators.

The upload process was quite painless.  I used my Twitter account to log in, upload the audio, and add a thumbnail picture to my creation.  The site is super-intuitive and I noticed that I could share my ‘profile’ page and RSS feed for my content.  The upload process took about 5 minutes!  One thing I noticed was the content aggregation – there were news broadcasts from BBC and CNN.  The site is a bit more than just an audio uploading site; one can add a profile pic, write a personal description, and follow other podcasters/content creators.  While I’m not overly impressed with the site (the graphics and organization are rather generic), I would recommend this to educators and peers if they’re looking to upload audio content.

I’m attaching a reading of “Versos Sencillos” (Simple Verses), a book poetry by Cuba’s poet laureate Jose Marti.  Marti wrote beautiful poems in stanza form about his homeland and his desire for national freedom.  Marti is identified with the revolution  that overthrew Spanish rule in 1896.  He is an icon for Cubans, much like Mark Twain is an iconic American writer.  The music in the background is an acoustic version of ‘Guantanamera’, a song whose lyrics are taken from this poem.  I am narrating it and thus, the Spanish is not quite native.

Leave a Reply

